So I am finally in Sevilla and I love it. The city is so cute and authentic. I didn't receive my luggage until Saturday night. It was terrible. But I finally got it so all is well. I have 23 other people in my program... but all the CIEE programs makeup about 150 students. THEN there are at least 3 other programs in sevilla. SO if i want to find an american, no problem. I moved into my homestay. My Senora is very nice. I have no idea what she is saying 95% of the time. Sevillian spanish is very different from that of Barcelona or Madrid. They cut off the ends of their words and basically run them all together. If there is an s in the word...they skip it. They call is Andalu. If I can master spanish here, then everywhere else should be easy. Luckily a boy is also living with me. He is from utah and is fluent in spanish. He just came to spain to basically master andalu. He helps me converse with my Senora. He leaves soon though so uh oh. I live in a 3 bedroom apartment. Its quaint. Theres no air conditioning...but we've had amazing weather so theres no complaint. I started my intensive spanish class today. It goes for 2 weeks, 3 hours a day. My teacher is awesome. His name is Luis. I'll probably learn more in 2 weeks than I have in 6 years. I've been getting frustrated because 30% of the spanish I've been taught in the US is no longer correct, Certain words have changed to updated meanings. Basically, I look stupid. Also, in the US they stopped teaching the verb form vosotros..bc they said no one uses it anymore. That was a lie. Besides that... my spanish is coming along. At the end of the day I am mentally tired. Everyone says in about 3 weeks, everything will just click. I hope so. Lets see...
The food is good. Me and a pal have gone into restaurants and ordered anything that is common in spain but we have never heard of. The best part about spain is tapas. Which is just like tasting of a certain dish. Most cost under 2 euros. So she and I will order around 6. I have probably tried around 20 different dishes so far. Things get deceiving however. Once I thought i order scallops...and ended up with veal. Opps. My homestay is different. My menu goes like this:
Breakfast(8am): Toast and tea
Lunch(2pm): 3 different courses. Ex: salad, bean stew with sausage, watermelon.
Dinner(930 pm): 3 courses but smaller than lunch.
My senora puts so much food out and then yells at me to keep eating bc if I don't I'll get sick. Hopefully the amount of walking I do will burn off the pounds of food i consume.
The nightlife is great. After dinner (11pm) you go to a local cervesaria and order a few rounds of beer, wine, sangria, or a local favorite (redwine, club soda, and lemon). The tables are on the street and there is a cervesaria located probably every other store. So the streets just fill up. You either stay there or jump around but by 3 am all the young people head to the discotecas. I have yet to stay up till 7 am... but its the norm. This city is just relaxed. Its not uncommon to see 4 old men sitting in a park at 4 pm drinking 40's. Everyone really just enjoys the day. Shops close at 2pm for lunch and siesta ( naptime) then they come and reopen their stores at 6. I'm getting pretty used to it.
I am still trying to figure out how to put pictures up. They download very slow. I'll get some up soon. Hope everyone is doing well! I will post again soon.
No comments:
Post a Comment