Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Italy

OKAY sorry for the late post I have been super busy. BUT this past weekend I had a 5 day break so my girl friend Dana and I decided to venture to Italy. We couldn´t chose just one place to go so we chose 4. Pisa, Florence, Rome, and Milan.

Thursday afternoon we boarded our ryanair flight to Pisa. Ryanair is a very inexpensive airline in europe. You can find flights for 10 euro one way or even down to 5. After you´ve checked in its free for all. You board the plan from front of back and hope you get a window seat. The flight went well except for the landing, I´m pretty sure the pilot juust went straight down and hit the tarmack with full force. We were awake after that one! We then found our hostel easily and then went and had some dinner. MY first meal in italy....spaghetti. It was the only thing offered at the resturant! But it was delicious and so was the bottle of wine. After that we ventured to see the leaning tower of Pisa. It was awesome. Just to actually see it was amazing. AT night there were zero tourists and it was all gloomy and lit up. Its the bell tower of this huge cathedral. We just wondered around these buildings for a while then went backt to the hostel and went to bed.

The next morning we woke up in order to catch our bus to florence. We were running a bit late...but luck was on our side. NO one else had signed up for the bus so basically the bus left once we got there. It was a quick 45 minute drive. We got to florence and then bought some sandwich supplies. Checked into our hostel, ate some lunch and then we were off. He hit the duomo first. A very pretty church. We hiked to the top, and yes that was very tiring but worth it. After that we went to the arno and tried to find some pretty gardens. We couldn´t so we just rested in a plaza. Then we headed to Michaelangelos piazza. A beauitful view. I feel like we did something else but I cannot remember. For dinner we had a delicious meal of ravioli and pizza. then went to bed.

We were up bright and early the next morning and off to rome. We caught our train at 645 and arrived at 11. We checked in and were off. we visited the vatican museum first. SO cool. I had no idea how old that place was. The art in there is really something. To see the sistine chapel in person was neat too. Then we booked it to the colosseum but not until after we enjoyed some very delicious paninis. We made it to the coloseeum 1 minute before it closed for the day. IT WAS FANTASTIC. haha I want to watch gladiator now. We then ended our day with the trevi fountain and some gelato. Mmmmm. Later we enjoyed a very delicious italian meal. I had pasta in a white cream sauce with gorgonzola and walnuts. We then went out with our hostel and had a great halloween. It got a bit rowdy.

840 the next morning we took a 6 hour train right to Milan. We had to because thats where we had to fly out of. This is the only place that gave us the most problems. It took us an hour to find the hostel. and then a while to find food. But we ended up eating very GOOD pizza and then I was out by 730pm. We were up again at 3am to cactch our plane. We planend to take the metro to the train station..but it was closed. IT took us 20 minutes to find an ATM. then we taxied it to the train station and just made the shuttle to the airport. We boarded our plane and got back to sevilla at 10 am. I slept until 3pm.

IT was a great trip. I fell in love with italy and almost wished I had studied italian instead. I want to go back very soon! PIctures are up on my facebook for those interested.

This weekend I have Granada!!!!

bye EVERYONE. TAKE CARE.

No comments:

Post a Comment